Uber and Lyft are ridesharing services that New Jerseyans commonly take advantage of. The appeal to this is that passengers can easily get to and from their destination on demand and with safety. However, the unfortunate reality is that, like any other form of transportation, there is a chance that you may be involved in an accident. If this is your case, continue reading to discover how one of the experienced Morris County Uber/Lyft accident attorneys at Lutz Injury Law can help you recover compensation via the Uber/Lyft liability coverage.
What are the common causes of Uber/Lyft accidents in the state of New Jersey?
Interestingly, Uber/Lyft drivers are considered independent contractors, instead of employees of the company they drive for. So, becoming a driver only requires a valid driver’s license and an insured automobile, among a few other requirements. Professional driving inexperience can ultimately increase the possibility of an accident. Of course, many other factors may contribute, which include the following:
- Texting while driving.
- Looking at a GPS or other electronic devices while driving.
- Ignoring traffic signals and signs.
- Drunk or drugged driving.
- Speeding or otherwise reckless driving.
- Drowsy driving.
- Poor weather conditions.
- Unsafe driving hazards.
Am I eligible for Uber/Lyft accident liability coverage in the state of New Jersey?
What many do not know is that Uber/Lyft has a liability coverage service in place to compensate you if you were wrongfully injured in an accident while using their rideshare service. The amount of payment available to you will depend on when and how the accident occurred. This system is broken down into “periods,” which are specified below:
- Period 0: the rideshare driver caused an accident when they were not yet logged into the rideshare app.
- Uber/Lyft will not provide liability coverage, so you must independently sue the negligent driver’s insurance company.
- Period 1: the rideshare driver caused an accident when they were logged into the rideshare app and did not accept a ride yet.
- Uber/Lyft will provide liability coverage for up to $50,000 per injured person, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and/or $25,000 property damage liability.
- Period 2: the rideshare driver caused an accident when they had accepted a ride and were on the way to pick up a passenger.
- Uber/Lyft will provide up to $1 million in liability coverage.
- Period 3: the rideshare driver caused an accident while a passenger was in the car.
- Uber/Lyft will provide $1 million in liability coverage, limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car, and uninsured motorists’ coverage.
For more information on how to retain the compensation you require to heal, contact a skilled Morris County automobile accidents attorney immediately.
CONTACT OUR MORRIS COUNTY FIRM
If you have been the victim of the negligence of another in an accident, please contact a qualified New Jersey personal injury attorney at Lutz Injury Law as quickly as possible following the subject accident.