Automobile accidents can cause severe physical and emotional harm that may result in substantial medical expenses, long-term medical treatment, and even lost wages. When negligent drivers are the cause of significant injuries and financial burdens, victims may want to consider their legal options. Continue reading and reach out to our New Jersey personal injury attorney to learn about how our legal team can help if you’ve been hurt in a car accident. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What should I do after a car accident?
There are a few steps and tips that you should take moments after a car accident occurs that can best protect you and your future options regarding compensation for the injuries and damages incurred:
- Call 911- the police and an ambulance will arrive shortly thereafter. Even if there have been no injuries, the police will file an accident report, which is critical evidence for future personal injury claims.
- Next, exchange insurance information with the other motorist. Remember to remain calm and cordial to prevent the escalation of conflict. When speaking with the opposing motorist or police officer, try and stick to the facts of the accident, rather than whose fault it was.
- Take photos and videos of all vehicles involved in the accident, including your own. If you sustained injuries, photos and videos should also be taken.
- Once you have been treated at the hospital, ask your medical examiners to provide documentation of the origin and severity of your injuries. This documentation can be used later as key evidence for your legal claims.
- Lastly, you should make time as soon as possible to speak with an experienced automobile accident attorney regarding next steps towards the process of gaining compensation for your physical and emotional damages.
What is the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim in New Jersey?
All states have a statute of limitations in place for personal injury claims. The statute of limitations is the amount of time that you have to take legal action against another. In New Jersey, the statute of limitations is 2 years. Therefore, you have 2 years from the date of the accident to sue a negligent motorist.
Who will pay my medical bills after a car accident?
Because New Jersey is a “No-Fault” state, your own auto insurance provider will provide coverage regardless of who is at fault. In New Jersey, when the accident involves a private passenger motor vehicle, the injured party’s auto insurance will become the primary coverage for medical care. If the injured person does not have an auto insurance policy and there is no other auto insurance policy in the injured person’s household, then the policy covering the vehicle would provide coverage.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED NEW JERSEY FIRM
If you have been the victim of the negligence of another in an accident, please contact my office as quickly as possible following the subject accident. It is important to consult with us early on so that we may begin the process of fighting for your rights in regard to any potential claim that you may have. The process is complicated and requires the expertise of a qualified New Jersey personal injury attorney. CONTACT US TODAY!