If you’re involved in an auto accident, it can be a frightening and traumatic experience. As such, it can be challenging to remain calm and remember the steps you should take to safeguard your legal rights. However, it’s vital to take a deep breath, assess the situation, and consider your actions carefully. Knowing how to proceed after a collision can save someone’s life and help you avoid making mistakes that could diminish your ability to recover monetary compensation for your damages. In the immediate aftermath, one of the most critical steps is contacting the police. The police will gather information as a neutral third party, which can help determine fault. If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident, you should enlist the help of a determined Morris County Car Accident Attorney who can help you fight for the just compensation you deserve. Please continue reading to learn the importance of filing a police report after an accident in New Jersey.
Do I have to file a police report after an accident in New Jersey?
Firstly, in New Jersey, you will be subject to severe consequences if you neglect to report an auto accident that caused injury, death, or significant property damage of over $500. Typically, you will incur a hefty fine of $100 in addition to court fees, and your driving privileges may even be suspended.
If you’re involved in a minor crash where no one was injured, you’re not legally required to report the accident. However, the best course of action is to file a police report. Regardless of whether you are fine and the damage looks minor, it would be best to think twice before complying with the other driver’s requests. Specific injuries may not become evident immediately. For example, whiplash is a common injury that is sustained after auto accidents, which could have delay effects, meaning the symptoms may not surface until days later. If you fail to file a police report or fail to seek immediate medical attention, it can limit your ability to recover financial compensation.
What will a police report provide after a collision?
When the police arrive at the accident scene, they will serve as an unbiased third party who will report on the accident as they have observed it. They will collect crucial information about the accident that can serve as evidence for your claim. The following include but are not limited to some of the information that a police report will provide:
- Contact information of all parties involved
- Insurance information from all parties involved
- The date and time of the accident
- The location of the accident
- Witness statements
- The officer’s observations at the scene, including weather conditions that may have contributed to the accident
Ultimately, the police report will serve as a valuable piece of evidence that can help support your case. It’s imperative to note that you should ask the officer for a copy of the police report.
If you’ve been injured in an auto accident due to another driver’s negligence, please don’t hesitate to contact an experienced attorney from the legal team at Lutz Injury Law, who can help you through the claims process every step of the way. We are prepared to represent your interests today.